New Year’s Even 2016 In Taiwan

This morning (Saturday), I arrived home at 2 a.m., after leaving my US home at 5:30 yesterday (Thursday) morning (there is a significant time difference, so I wasn’t actually travelling over 40 hours, only about 24 hours). So this is a bit of jetlag writing, my apologies in advance…

Today I spent a good part of the afternoon and evening with two friends from two different cultures (he is from Southern US, she is Taiwanese/Canadian) travelling to and attending a wedding in Taipei. The wedding was a Canadian friend marrying the man she loves, who happens to be from New Zealand, and whom she met in Taiwan. There were people from at least seven cultures (the ones I know of are US, Canada, New Zealand, Malaysia, Taiwan, and South Africa, but I am sure there were more) attending the wedding and reception, and it was a joyous and joyful time. Lots of laughter, good stories, and fun times were had by all. Welcome to the life of an ex-pat/missionary… you know people from all over the world, and many cultures, and it is a wonderful experience
However, as jetlag was expected (and New Years travel is … not good in Taiwan), I came home early to celebrate the New Year with my kitties, GeGe and DiDi. As midnight approached, GeGe and I moved into the kitchen to watch the fireworks. I counted at least seven different shows going off, in the small part of Taichung I can see. But the fireworks started early today and have continued all day (and will continue much of the night, I am sure). When I first moved to Taiwan, I was surprised at how often I heard fireworks (during Ghost month they may start at 5 a.m. and go until 11 p.m.). But I have learned the seasons that are more likely to include fireworks, and when they happen in other times, I just assume it is “an auspicious day” and mostly ignore the noise.

Tomorrow I will eat black-eyed peas, which is a family tradition. Then I will attend a baby shower for a friend who moved away from Taiwan in July, but is back for a visit. She is Taiwanese, but has spent enough time in American culture to also be American. Her husband is from Hong Kong, but also has spent enough time in America to be more American than Chinese. And both have lived in Taiwan. So this baby will be a Third Culture Kid from birth… Xiao Wu has no choice, but it’s okay, because Ayi Sharon (Aunt Sharon) will help with adjustment (at least if I have my way…).

So, that is a brief window into life as a missionary living in Taiwan on New Year’s weekend. I hope you enjoy it, and I pray you have a blessed 2017! Happy New Year!

p.s. DiDi is currently sitting in front of the space heater I have going (since we have no central heat and it’s a balmy 68 degrees F in my house without the space heater) and he says Happy New Year! as do GeGe and I!

p.p.s. I am planning on posting more frequently in 2017, so if you don’t hear from me, please message me and nag me a bit…

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

